top of page
  • Writer's pictureshaw157kat

A Paw Print Point of View

This year has been difficult for everyone; some may be struggling more than others. The pandemic has hit many families, businesses, and schools hard. Greenwood has been carrying on (even without a principal) through this tough time. Students have had to adapt to new ways of learning as well as keeping up with their extracurricular activities. Many students have found that being in school activities and clubs can help with stress. The Paw Print was created by Greenwood’s very own journalism club, which is led by Mrs. Campbell. Despite all the struggles with the pandemic, our staff has been putting out fun and interesting articles every month for your enjoyment. With this being the last set of articles for the 2020-2021 school year, I decided to ask the members a few questions about what it’s like to write for the school newspaper and how the pandemic has affected that (also a few questions just for fun!).


Do you think that the pandemic has affected what you choose to write about?

“The pandemic has definitely affected what I choose to write my journalism articles about. It brought about a lot of changes in our world, and that provided many opportunities for articles.” -Emily Hixson



How do you balance school work while also writing for The Paw Print?

“I usually work on my article during the evenings after I finish homework. Sometimes it’s stressful but I get it done.”-Spencer Watts


How long does it take you to write an article on average?

“It depends on the topic and how much research I need. If it’s something I’m very passionate about it usually doesn’t take long. It can also take longer if I need to research to make sure I can deliver accurate, helpful information.”-Lia Zurenko


What is your favorite thing to write about?

“My favorite thing to write about is school news and events and different things around the community!”-Spencer Watts


How do you choose what topics to write about?

“I write about important events that happen, and I write about them because students might not always get the most accurate facts of the topic. I want to make sure the truth

doesn’t get buried in darkness.” -Alix Moreland


What is your favorite thing about the journalism club?

“My favorite part about journalism is the environment and people. Everyone is very fun to be around and the club is a very positive environment. I joined a bit late this year and I don’t feel like I was treated differently because of it. Mrs. Campbell is a great advisor for the club and gives us mostly free range but is there if we need her.” -Nevin Brofee



What got you interested in journalism/writing?

“I joined Journalism Club back in eighth grade because I wanted an outlet to write about things that I loved and was passionate about. What kept me interested though, was some of the amazing members and how much they encouraged me to keep writing and develop my skills. Kelsey Sheaffer has been the editor since as long as I can remember, and she especially was super positive and encouraging, along with many other amazing people, many of whom have graduated. This made me want to keep being in the club and keep

writing, and now being an editor myself, I strive to create the same environment that encouraged me.”-Emily Swann


Despite all the struggles this year has brought, our Paw Print writers are still making articles for everyone to enjoy, and we have even reached further than the Greenwood district. It has been a pleasure to provide interesting content for our community and we will continue to make great articles next year. The Paw Print wishes you a summer full of fun!


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Spotlight: Lara Vicente

At Greenwood, there is always at least one foreign exchange student that comes for a new experience. This year, that exchange student is Lara Vicente. Instead of asking Lara the usual questions of “ho

bottom of page