top of page
  • lianicolezurenko5

Denmark to America: A Spotlight on Exchange Student Thea Skoett


Before school starts each year, many students check their class rosters, hoping to see an unfamiliar name. If they see one, excitement starts to grow and they may ask themselves is this just a new student, or is this an exchange student? They probably talk to their friends about this new name, and eventually, on the first day of school, they find out who this person really is.


This might have been the case for one of Greenwood’s exchange students this year, Lina Keller, however, it wasn’t quite the case for our newest exchange student. Her name is Thea Skoett and although she joined us a little later into the school year, we still greatly appreciate her and welcomed her into our Greenwood community with open arms. I even had the pleasure of interviewing her and asking questions to find out more about her and her American experience thus far! Here are her answers.



Question #1: How old are you and where are you from?

“I’m 16, and I’m from Denmark”


Question #2: What are some of your hobbies, interests, or other activities?

“Well, I read a little. Besides that, I just like to do stuff with people around. It doesn’t really have to be anything big, I just like to be social with people I love.”


Question #3: What made you want to become an exchange student?

"I have always been super interested in how people live so differently around the world, how people have so many different cultures, and look at things so differently. And then just the fact that I could live for 10 months, just a small amount, of that American life that you see in the movies as a kid. It sounded so unreal and cool to me. So, overall, I’m just super curious by nature.”


Question #4: How is American school and daily life different from where you’re from?

"So, the biggest difference in school is that I already graduated. I actually graduated last summer, which people think is crazy when I tell them. In Denmark you graduated in 10th grade, so I don’t “have” to go to school anymore! The last couple of years in “high school” in Denmark is super important for your future. Your GPA has to be a certain number to be able to get to any other education after high school. So when I get home I have 3 extra “adding year” you have to take to start on what you want to be. Depending on what you want to be, you have to take a certain adding year. So, for example, one of the adding years is focused on math. If you want to be a lawyer, you would take that. But, we also have some overall ones you can use for multiple things. I’m sorry it’s super confusing!”

Another little thing is that we have lots of exams, and we also have multiple oral exams! We also don’t have sports in the school, so if you want to participate in a sport you do it in clubs after school. Enough about the school, it’s obviously super confusing.

But life is different too, just the fact you can drive a 16! We can’t until 18. And people are together all the time and are doing stuff, people are just super busy all the time! Something I have talked about with some of the other exchange students is that family is really everything here."


Question #5: What’s your favorite thing about Greenwood?

“I think the American school spirit! I haven’t been there for that long yet, but people are super sweet.”


Question #6: What part of American culture is the most interesting to you?

“Amish people. I thought it was so cool. I had no idea it was even a thing! And just the whole country thing, everyone listening to country music, and wearing cowboy boots.”


Question #7: What do you look forward to doing the most while being in America?

“Mostly just the daily life here.”


Question #8: What’s your favorite meal you’ve had in America?

“You guys eat a lot of beef and I love it.”


Overall, it seems like Thea is having a great time here in America. She seems to be learning new things all the time and finding enjoyment in everyday American life, especially at Greenwood. Let’s continue to welcome her and help her have a great exchange student experience this year.



31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Spotlight: Lara Vicente

At Greenwood, there is always at least one foreign exchange student that comes for a new experience. This year, that exchange student is Lara Vicente. Instead of asking Lara the usual questions of “ho

bottom of page