top of page
  • Emily Hixson

Faculty Spotlight: Greenwood's Newest Wildcat

Greenwood High School has welcomed many new teachers this year! One of which is Mrs. Hicks, the female physical education teacher. I had the opportunity to ask her a few questions, so read on to learn more about one of our newest teachers!

Tell me a little bit about yourself.

“This is my 3rd year of teaching. I graduated from Lock Haven University in 2019. My husband, Garrett, and I have been married for a little over 2 years (but have been together for almost 10!). I am currently assistant coaching the junior high soccer team here at Greenwood. I have been involved in soccer in some way for almost my entire life - played from age 5 into my first year of college, have continued to coach for different teams for 4 years, and still enjoy playing in rec leagues when possible. I also enjoy watching Penguins hockey and Steelers football. Spending time with my family is honestly one of my favorite things to do. Both my family and my in-laws love to have family game nights. I LOVE coffee and ice cream. In college, I was known to my friends as the "ice cream problem enabler," which basically meant that any time one of my friends wanted to go to the local ice cream place, they knew I was available to go along. I also love music. You will rarely find me at home without some sort of music on (typically at too high of volume levels) and if you walk into the locker room during my plan period, you will likely hear my music on as well.”

Where did you work prior to Greenwood?

“I worked at East Pennsboro Middle School for a year and then Lewisburg's middle school for a few months last year before coming to Greenwood this year.”

What is your favorite TV show?

“Friends is my favorite but I have several other close 2nds... (Jane the Virgin, Madame Secretary..)”

What is your favorite part of the job?

“My favorite part of this job is being able to share things that I feel strongly about. Especially in my health classes, I get to teach on things that are super relevant and important for the rest of my students' lives. I love being able to educate kids about these things but then see them realize how they affect their lives as well. I love advocating for healthful lifestyles and helping young people learn how to achieve those things.”

What is one thing you want the students at Greenwood to know?

“I am really excited to be in your district. Although I am a resident and avid lover of Juniata County, I am still proud to be a part of this Perry County family via Greenwood.”


208 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Spotlight: Lara Vicente

At Greenwood, there is always at least one foreign exchange student that comes for a new experience. This year, that exchange student is Lara Vicente. Instead of asking Lara the usual questions of “ho

bottom of page