top of page
  • Emily Hixson

Healthcare Heroes

We may be over a year into the COVID-19 pandemic, but nurses are still seeing the effects of this deadly virus. My cousin Madeline Jenkins works in the respiratory unit of York Hospital, so she experiences first hand the struggles of working in a hospital during this hard time. I had the opportunity to interview her about this and give you insight on what it’s like being on the frontlines during this pandemic.


1. What has been the biggest struggle of working in the hospital during COVID?

“I think I speak for most when I say that the biggest struggle has been watching your patients slip away and not being able to do anything to help them. We become nurses because we want to help people and make them feel better. With our COVID patients were doing everything we can and sometimes that still isn’t enough. No one wants to watch their patients suffer, especially without their family by their side.”


2. What gives you hope/keeps you motivated on the hardest days at work?

“Honestly, some days you feel helpless and you feel worthless. What keeps me motivated are my patients. I fight for them when they can’t fight for themselves. Knowing I’m making a difference, small or big, keeps the fire lit inside me.”


3. How has the virus affected your co-workers and relationships in the hospital?

“ been really hard on a lot of us. I’ve been so isolated from my family because I’m so of giving them this virus since I’m exposed so much. It’s been very hard on my mental too. I’ve diagnosed with depression, anxiety, and PTSD since caring for COVID patients. We all struggle, but we struggle together which sometimes makes it easier when you have someone to talk to that’s going through the same thing. I’ve felt isolated, like no one could understand how I was feeling. You have no idea what it’s like until you’re in a patient's room with them and seeing how the virus affects them.”


4. How has this changed your viewpoint of being a nurse?

“If anything, dealing with this virus has made me SO proud and honored to be a nurse. I love my job and the difference I can make in my patients lives.”


5. What advice do you wish to share about COVID?

“My advice is to take this virus seriously. It’s not a joke. It is real. If I


could take you all behind the scenes to see what it’s really like I would because it’s life changing. Reach out to those you love and care about. Lastly, just wear the dang mask!!”


To all the healthcare workers, but especially my cousin Maddie, thank you. You inspire me everyday with your hard work and big hearts. I can’t imagine what you’re


going through, but know that you have all my love and support as you continue fighting on the frontline against this virus.



67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Spotlight: Lara Vicente

At Greenwood, there is always at least one foreign exchange student that comes for a new experience. This year, that exchange student is Lara Vicente. Instead of asking Lara the usual questions of “ho

bottom of page