top of page
  • Writer's pictureCheyenne Degiglio

Interviews from Everest

Updated: Feb 7, 2018

Interview conducted by: Cheyenne Degiglio

Interviewee: Temba Tsheri Sherpa

Recently, I read a short story about a man who climbed Mount Everest. Then, I watched a movie about people who climbed Mount Everest and to say the least I was intrigued, inspired, and honestly a bit confused. I was in awe that anyone was capable of such a feat and I was also shocked that anyone would ever consider risking their life just to climb a mountain. So, I reached out to Temba Tsheri Sherpa, a man who had summited Everest at the young age of 16. Remarkably, I was lucky enough to get a response from him that was so interesting that I was compelled to share.

Mr. Temba Tsheri Sherpa became the youngest person to reach Everest on May 23, 2001 at the age of 16. When the news of his excursion traveled he became known worldwide and was recognized by the Guinness World Records. He has attempted to summit Everest once before and actually lost five of his fingers because of his expedition! He is now the Founder and Managing Director of Sherpa Khangri Outdoor, a trekking and expedition agency based in Panipokhari, Kathmandu.

Below is a collection of questions and answers from an interview that I conducted with Mr. Temba Tsheri Sherpa. Enjoy!

Q: How would you describe yourself?

A: “I would like to be known as an adventurer who loves nature and stuff, very spontaneous and fun loving guy.”

Q: What inspired you to climb this mountain?

A: “As i was born in the lap of Himalayas i was always fascinated with the mountains above my head. I was wanted to reach the top of the Mount Everest and look what it's like to see the world from the roof of the world.”

Q: What was it like to have to climb across the ladders from peaks with nothing underneath of you?

A: “It's like the most dangerous thing to do for the beginners but once you cross the ladders it's the more fun part. That is the greatest and best taste of an adventure.”

Q: Did you experience any hallucinations? If so, what did they consist of and how did they impact your journey?

A: “I used to hallucinate a lot . I remember someone offering blankets and a cup of hot water. (I guess You see things you want the most). It's normal to have hallucinations above 7000 meters.”

Q: What feeling did you have while standing on the Summit?

A: “That was the best feeling ever. I cannot put it in words, i felt like i won the world.”

Q: How long did you prepare?

A: “I did some basic course. C limed few peaks (6000 meters) before the expedition.”

Q: Did you undergo any mental preparations as well as the physical preparations?

A: “Not really. As i was born in the Himalayas i could easily adjust with the nature and altitude.”

Q: Was climbing Everest more taxing mentally or physically?

A: “I would say both because you need to be physically strong and mentally prepared.”

Q: What was the biggest challenge you faced on your climb?

A: “Altitude. The higher you go the more you suffer.”

Q: How did you manage the fear that you may have felt throughout your journey?

A: “I was always focused to go further . I made up my mind that i would stop only after i reach the summit.”

Q: Why did you go back to climb a second time even after experiencing some trauma on your first excursion?

A: “As i said, i had to achieve it no matter what. My passion was greater than my fear.”

Q: What would you say the most enjoyable part of climbing Everest was?

A: “At that moment i was enjoying every little things like sipping a cup of coffee . Watching sun rise and sun set from the top. It's a different feeling being there somewhere on the paradise far away from the hustle and bustle of the city.”

Q: What was the most traumatic part of your journey to climb Everest?

A: “The fear of natural calamities that may occur. You never know what's coming your way.”

Q: What lessons have you learned from climbing Everest that you implement into your daily life?

A: “Every step you take leads to your destination no matter how hard it is.”

Q: If you didn’t make it to the Summit when you did, would you have kept trying?

A: “Of course. I would not stop until i reach my dream destination.”

Q: What kind of food did you eat?

A: “We were given all the basic things like Daal Bhat (Rice and Curry) Packed foods, possible drinks, high food, Energy bars/Food etc.”

Q: Is there something about yourself or your expedition(s) that you think has attributed to why you have succeeded above others?

A: “I think it's my passion and the whole team. i wouldn't be where i am today without my team.”

Q: Do you ever think that people have begun to look at climbing Everest too casually because people before them have succeeded? If so, what is your advice to these people?

A: “I can see that people now a days have been looking climbing Everest too casually. I have seen and heard anyone going to the Everest with out preparing and with out a guide. I feel pity to those who doesn't take these things seriously. Because it's not as easy as they think it is. You need to have a lot of courage , Guts and strength and above all a good team.”

Q: Finally, what is a lesson you have learned from your journey that you would like to share with high school students?

A: “Never give up. That's what i say to everyone.”

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Spotlight: Lara Vicente

At Greenwood, there is always at least one foreign exchange student that comes for a new experience. This year, that exchange student is Lara Vicente. Instead of asking Lara the usual questions of “ho

bottom of page