top of page
  • Writer's pictureMadison Kurylo

Student Spotlight: Lara Vicente

At Greenwood, there is always at least one foreign exchange student that comes for a new experience. This year, that exchange student is Lara Vicente. Instead of asking Lara the usual questions of “how old are you?” or “what are some hobbies you have?” we wanted to get to know her experience here. 

Q: What do you miss most about Spain?  

A: There’s a lot of things I miss about Spain, some of them I didn't even realize were so important to me. I miss my friends most of the time, and the food too. But what I miss the most would clearly be my family.

Q: How do you like it here?

A: I really like being here, the culture, the area and the people. I feel lucky  being able to spend my year here, in Greenwood. Of course, it took some time to get used to it, especially coming from another completely different way of living, but, right now, I couldn’t imagine spending my exchange year in another place.

Q: Do you like Greenwood and what do you like about it? 

A: I really like Greenwood, and I liked it since the first day I was there. One of the things I like the most about it it’s how welcoming, friendly and cozy it is. I feel like everybody knows everyone and it’s almost more like a family than just a school. 

Q: What is your favorite place you have visited so far? 

A: With no doubt, the favorite place I have visited so far would be New York. It’s a city I hadn't had the opportunity to see before, and I loved it. 

Q: What is your favorite memory(s) made here?

I have so many memories I have made through this year so far, and I couldn't choose one like my favorite. Most of them are at school, or outside with all the wonderful people I've met here, like my friends or my host family.

Q: Is PA in any way different from Spain? 

A: PA, and all the US in general, is a lot different from Spain. It’s really interesting being able to see and experience both places to compare both types of living. I think I could find more than a hundred differences, but the most outstanding ones would be related to how school works and how people live, in relation to transport, schedules, etc.

After asking Lara these questions we got to know a little more about our exchange student. The Greenwood staff and student body are glad to have Lara with us and we hope she has the best experience she can while with us. 


49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Greenwood’s New Athletic Director

The Greenwood administrative staff has had a few shake ups in recent years. With the departure of Mr. Wilson and Dr. Guarantee, and the retirement of athletic director Mr. Shaffer, several positions h

bottom of page