top of page
  • Emily Hixson

Teacher Spotlight: An Interview With Mr. Tomko

Greenwood has such great teachers, and I had the opportunity to interview one of many people’s favorites, Mr. Tomko! Read on to learn about his hobbies, something he wants you, the students, to know, and more.

Tell me a little bit about yourself.

“Well, I have 8 kids between the ages of 18-29. I enjoy woodworking, working out, and reading. I travel when I can and I want to see the whole world!”

What’s your favorite movie?

“I have really enjoyed the letters Dune movie - that’s one of my favorite books.”

What’s your favorite TV show?

“My favorite TV series is “Avatar: the Last Airbender””.

Who’s your favorite musical artist?

“I listen to a wide variety of music, and most of my Spotify rewind is Russian. Currently I’m really enjoying listening to Malinda and Bobby Waters.”

What is your favorite part of the job?

“I have so many things I like about working at Greenwood, it is such a wonderful place. The students and everyone who works here are such great people, and every day I just try to do what I can to be deserving of working here and to help make everyone’s day at least a little bit better.”

What is one thing you want students at Greenwood to know?

“If there is one thing I would like everyone at Greenwood to know it would be this: Realize that Greenwood is a special place because from top to bottom, there is a sense of everyone looking out for each other. Sure there are bumps along the way, but at our core we are a gracious and caring community that really looks out for each other. Whenever you leave Greenwood, take those attributes and that care with you and you’ll make the world around you a better place.”

Thank you to Mr. Tomko for his time. Your hard work and dedication is appreciated by us all, and Greenwood is so lucky to have you!


75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Spotlight: Lara Vicente

At Greenwood, there is always at least one foreign exchange student that comes for a new experience. This year, that exchange student is Lara Vicente. Instead of asking Lara the usual questions of “ho

bottom of page