top of page
  • Writer's pictureRocky Shuler

The Greenwood Mixtape: a survey of our teachers’ favorite musicians

When was the last time you talked music with someone? Chances are, you listened to a friend’s playlist, jammed out in the car, or maybe the last time you really paid attention to music was at this years’ homecoming dance. But have you considered that some of the most experienced music connoisseurs could be right in our Greenwood community? I was very curious to investigate what types of music our teachers enjoy, or have special memories branching from. Whether it was a small conversation or a nostalgic written paragraph, the responses from teachers included surprised me, and I’m sure a few will be shocking to you as well.


I asked a handful of participating teachers, “What is your favorite band (or bands), and why do you enjoy that type of music?” In no particular order, here are their responses, as well as my feedback and personal rating!


Mr. Pliska:

"I would have to say Switchfoot, or maybe Flyleaf. I enjoy them because of their positive, uplifting messages and rock vibes. I have also been to many of both of the bands’ concerts."


I had a fun conversation with Mr. Pliska about these bands and the concerts he’s been to (even the ones his now-wife may have forced him to attend). Both Switchfoot and Flyleaf appear to be bands that hold the message “Christian by faith, not by genre,” meaning their lyrics are often spiritually based but not necessarily held to the whole genre. After listening, I enjoyed Switchfoot's music more, with songs such as “Meant to Live”, “lost ‘cause”, and “fluorescent, which was surprisingly innovative with many string instruments.

  • My rating: 6/10 - points off for being slightly repetitive, but the passion for music is there.

  • If you like Switchfoot: I definitely recommend a band called Starset. Similar messages but they have a way cooler, outer space-themed aesthetic throughout the whole band!


Mrs. Ellenberger:


"I like many bands and musicians, but my favorite performer might be JJ Grey & Mofro!"


Before interviewing Mrs. Ellenberger, we’d talked about music quite a bit; I learned that it is very easy for her to become interested in new bands, and we had even been to the same music festival last summer without even knowing! I had never heard of JJ Grey & Mofro, a compositional singer who regularly headlines groovy concerts and has a specialty for live performing. My first impression of him was that I could see his music playing in the background of a carnival; perfectly fit for a warm summer evening, full of entertainment and the buzz of people. I was quite excited to hear some harmonica in a good portion of his music, especially a song called “Lochloosa”!

  • My rating: 6.5/10 - I actually expected more funky jazz elements, but artist aside, Mrs. Ellenberger is definitely a music person!

  • If you like JJ Grey & Mofro: My favorite harmonica-based band is called The Murlocs! They are more alternative and upbeat so bet you’d like them.


Mr. Deitz:


"Pearl Jam! I've seen Pearl Jam live 19 times (should be 20 - thanks a lot COVID). Every concert is completely different from the others. I think that's what keeps bringing me back. Their music and lyrics are complex and diverse as well which makes them listenable no matter what my mood is."


Now, Mr. Deitz and I talk about music on a regular basis, so this one was pretty obvious. Unfortunately, I am guilty of being a surface-level Pearl Jam listener, so my favorites are “Jeremy”, “Even Flow”, and “Just Breathe”. That’s not to say Mr. Deitz doesn’t possess otherworldly knowledge about this band; he has tactics to get you hooked on Pearl Jam no matter what type of music you normally listen to. Lead singer Eddie Vedder is a pro at writing introspective, emotional lyrics - I’d suggest consulting Mr. Deitz for insight into the unique storytelling the band has mastered.

  • My rating: 9.5/10 - Pearl Jam is a classic, influential band.


Mrs. Miller:


"I think my favorite bands are still the same as when I was in college, so maybe Radiohead."


After conversing with Mrs. Miller, we came to the conclusion that much of her favorite music resorts back into the past, which offers interesting, nostalgic insight. I have a firm belief that certain songs and genres can mark very specific chapters in our lives and it’s so fascinating to look back on how music has affected us, and even what type of music could fulfill us in the present. Radiohead is certainly a radical band and their influences can be found in many modern artists (minus the gloomy factors Radiohead sometimes has…) With this in mind, it’s exciting and easy to branch into new music from here!

  • My rating: 7/10

  • If you like Radiohead: Definitely Blur, or if you want an upgrade, Depeche Mode. For a more fresh wave of electronica, I recommend Pond and Sports, two bands I quite enjoy at the moment.


Mrs. Brummer:

"Alabama. They are classic country music. I can play some right now in class!"


Mrs. Brummer did indeed play us some Alabama discography in math class and I have to say, it was quite the circus considering we all had work to do. Nevertheless, Alabama is as classic country as you can get, with many of the members having grown up on cotton farms, pulling inspiration from their adolescent years and weaving it into their music. There are rumors that Mrs. Brummer sings along to music during school after-hours so you may or may not want to stick around for that…

  • My rating: 5/10 - influential to music history, but not my thing.

  • If you like Alabama: “Mrs. Brummer, have you ever heard of a band called King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard?”


Mrs. Campbell:


"I like a wide variety of musical genres, from classic rock to 90s hip-hop to show tunes... but probably my favorite band is Green Day. I love that they have a distinct sound and style, but they've definitely evolved throughout their career. Few bands have been as successful for as long as they have, and many of their songs are so iconic. I have a distinct memory from my senior prom of standing in a circle with my friends, singing and swaying to "Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)." Their greatest hits album is one of my go to playlists because, no matter what mood I'm in, the songs just help me to jam out and feel good."


What is it with English teachers and Green Day? I’m going to hold back a tangent here because I am a huge fan of this choice! Green Day has definitely evolved through the years, first beginning with some post-grunge and garage rock, into political punk rock, and currently with some dance-rock tunes. Love or hate their new music, it’s difficult to turn away from such a diverse compilation of albums that have honestly defined multiple cultural movements and stories. My favorite Green Day song has to be “Holiday”, and it’s hard for me to organize runner-ups to that. I saw Green Day in concert over the summer and just so happened to have seats right beside Mr. and Mrs. Nastasi, so Green Day is a band that holds hundreds of memories for me as well :)

  • My rating: 11/10!

  • If you like Green Day: Green Day, but dig deeper into their discography, it gets even better!


Mrs. Ulanoski:

"Pink, Dua Lipa, Taylor Swift - strong women with a positive, upbeat outlook on life!"


This is a great selection of artists! They have each created a pretty dominant image around themselves as powerful singers and creators. Dua Lipa is my favored choice but all three and similar artists included are currently pioneering a new era of music, down to the colors, themes, and aesthetics around us. I agree we all need some fun and bubbly tunes every once in a while and I like that these choices stand out from the others listed in this article.

  • My rating: 8/10



Mr. Watts:

"Dave Matthews Band, for their rhythmic guitar and interesting fusion of folk and acoustic rock. I really enjoy their mixture of sounds, including harmonica and electric violin!"


In a previous interview with Mr. Watts, we had talked about music, specifically a Pennsylvania band called Live. If you remember them, the Dave Matthews Band is similar with a more funky tweak to them; Mr. Watts explained it well! Iconic songs include "Ants Marching" and "What Would You Say?", which if I remember correctly, Mr. Watts has played every year running at his infamous band lock-ins. The band’s music is popular with cover bands and festivals - a JJ Grey & Mofro collab perhaps?

  • My rating: 8/10 - I trust Mr. Watts’ music tastes wholeheartedly.


Mrs. Flanders:

"Such a hard decision but I think my favorite band is Queen. I love the music and I love the movie and this has made me a bigger fan. I wish they would tour in the US again even with Adam Lambert, I like him too."


I would definitely agree with this, I love Queen! Freddie Mercury was an icon and so many bands to come were influenced by his fashion statements and stage presence. I can’t pick a favorite Queen song because they are all such amazing compositions of extravagant sounds. Adam Lambert is a spot on Freddie Mercury 2.0 of the sorts as well, so concerts are still going strong! I know Mrs. Flanders is an avid concert-goer and we have had many conversations surrounding music history, so she is a great resource for interesting bands.

  • My rating: 10/10!


Mrs. Novinger:


"Railroad Earth probably, but I also enjoy Cabinet and Greensky…bluegrass music. “Right in Tune'' by Railroad Earth was actually my wedding song, so that’s meaningful. I like fun, stress-relieving music!"

Railroad Earth left a good first impression on me - it was relaxing, toe-tapping, and classic. I absolutely love the harmonica, and it was complimentary to the banjos and raw sounds present in every song. Cabinet was more psychedelic, especially their song called “Mysterio”. It’s a well-known fact that Mrs. Novinger enjoys the bluegrass subgenre and now some artists can be pinned, so go ahead and give these bands a listen!

  • My rating: 9/10

  • If you like Railroad Earth: I actually was reminded of many artists from this selection, especially a band called Band of Heathens. There’s also a folk singer named Norma Tanega and she has a few good hits. If you’re looking for some very unique music, Mort Garson is a mystic composer with an album called Mother Earth’s Plantasia, an entirely instrumental album supposedly written “for plants”!


Mrs. Nastasi:

"I know you’re thinking Green Day, but my favorite musician might be Dashboard Confessional. Even though they’re emo they have all different kinds of music, and not all sad stuff! They are amazing live in small venues as well!"


Dashboard Confessional…a name that sounds cooler than, well, the music….maybe. I opened his Spotify profile to a guy that looked like a mixture of Colin Farrell, Hozier, and a generic barbershop manager so I definitely was intrigued. The apparent mastermind’s name is Christopher Carrabba, and he would go on to become a devotee of emo culture and vulnerable lyrics. I have to say, I was surprised by his soft voice. “Saints and Sailors” was a decent composition, however, I struggled to hear a punch of “emo” anywhere. I suppose this is not an unbiased article so I’ll say this: I was not impressed. I’ll give you credit for enthusiasm though!

  • My rating: 2/10 - I’m so sorry!!


Mr. Wilson:

"Eric Church - his music is a blend of old school country and rock and roll. He is very anti-establishment and doesn’t follow what country music wants him to do!"


I kept the anti-establishment concept in mind when listening to this artist - and I have to agree with you. The songs I listened to were heavily country but also had hints of rock and roll rebellion and catchy lyrics. Eric Church is listed within a Spotify playlist called “Country Cookout”, which is a perfect way to explain him I’d say. I sense a clear interest in noteworthy music here so I’m sure there are more music conversations to come with our new principal!

  • My rating: 6/10 - I prefer the more glittery side of country music but still enjoyable!


The results are in…so which teacher do you think has the most immaculate music taste? We often forget that our teachers have interests outside of their workday, let alone what enthusiasm and opinions they have on the world of music. If you’ve picked out a favorite on this list, why not start a conversation with that teacher, or even do some musical investigating beyond those listed? You can learn so much about someone based on their everyday playlists; our teachers all have unique stories to tell and I was honored to learn more about them through writing this casual article!


 

***any music facts were derived from the musicians' websites or my brain.

211 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Spotlight: Lara Vicente

At Greenwood, there is always at least one foreign exchange student that comes for a new experience. This year, that exchange student is Lara Vicente. Instead of asking Lara the usual questions of “ho

bottom of page