top of page
  • lianicolezurenko5

The Reopening of The Brew and Gold: What's in store for Greenwood's coffee shop?


Everyone needs a pick-me-up sometimes, and one of my favorites is coffee. The taste never changes, and it can always be relied on for those days when you need some more energy, or just want to treat yourself to a nice drink just for fun. This is why when I learned that the Brew and Gold was opening again this year I was ecstatic. I would soon be even more excited when I found out I would even be working in it too!


Students enjoying drinks in the hub


For some context, as some students in the building are a bit too young to remember, the Brew and Gold is the school’s coffee shop that is operated in the hub. It was shut down because of COVID-19 but has reopened this school year. Depending on the day, it is open during periods 1, 2, 3, and 11. Our wonderful Future Readiness and Business teacher, Mrs. Ulanoski, helps to manage and train the junior class, who are responsible for running the coffee shop every day.


To get some more insight, I asked Mrs. Ulanoski herself a couple of questions regarding the Brew and Gold:

What made you want to open the coffee shop again?

The Brew and Gold offers a chance for the students to reinforce numerous skills: customer service, time management, teamwork, and leadership. I also enjoy creating an opportunity to work with the students in a new environment outside of the classroom.


What has been the most challenging part of opening it?

Organizing all of the small details that need to come together


How have you managed the challenges?

Lots of help from the juniors, they have great ideas and have worked really hard to make the Brew and Gold a success


Do you have any future goals or plans for the coffee shop?

Keep introducing new products to keep the customers interested


What’s your favorite drink from the coffee shop?

Iced coffee with caramel


What’s your favorite part of being in charge of the coffee shop?

Supporting the juniors as they take ownership of the daily operations…I just keep it organized behind the scenes, proud of them as they are doing a great job.


In my experience as a junior who works at the Brew and Gold, I have to agree with Mrs. Ulanoski that the coffee shop is a great place for the juniors to learn different skills that are needed in the world. Working in it myself, the skill that sticks out to me the most is teamwork. Each day, we are working with different classmates that we might not otherwise speak with very much. With that, we have to work together to make sure that we fulfill each order, carefully craft them how the customer wants them, and do so in a timely manner.

Tayla Dusharm, Aidan Ross, and Ethan Brightbill making drinks


I also have to agree with Mrs. Ulanoski saying that the juniors have great ideas, which ultimately help to accomplish her goals, but one particularly stands out: keeping the customers interested. One example of this would be that recently, our class developed a brand new drink for the menu. It’s called LeRoy’s Pink Drink, and it is inspired by the classic Starbucks version. Everyone contributed to making this drink. I specifically remember one day seeing a piece of paper on the cupboard that had the recipe to make the drink, and then a section below to vote on whether or not you think the drink should be added to the menu. This really showed me how the junior class could work together as a team and accomplish something wonderful. Obviously, LeRoy’s pink drink got added to the menu and now I make them almost every time I’m working.

The Brew and Gold menu and prices (as of 11/17/22), including LeRoy's Pink Drink


Among the class, many of us have very positive experiences working in the Brew and Gold. Amiah Barner said her favorite part of working is, “Seeing all the smiles on the customers’ faces.” Additionally, McKenna Weller said, "I like working together with my friends and making a difference in the school.” Personally, I enjoy training my fellow classmates who are new to working in the shop. Recently, I got to train Mitch Newby and Leif Friedline and they finally learned how to make some of the drinks that they always order.

Mitch Newby and Leif Friedline wearing their aprons on their first day working


Thankfully, the Brew and Gold is open again and here to stay. The junior class and Mrs. Ulanoski are ambitious and enthusiastic about running it, so if you ever need a pick-me-up when you’re at school, make sure to stop by and order a drink!


136 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Spotlight: Lara Vicente

At Greenwood, there is always at least one foreign exchange student that comes for a new experience. This year, that exchange student is Lara Vicente. Instead of asking Lara the usual questions of “ho

bottom of page