top of page
  • Writer's pictureDrew Bratton

Travel Guide: Top 5 Most Recommended Places to Visit in the USA

Whether you realize it or not, summer is quickly approaching. Not only does this mean warmer weather, but it also means that it is vacation season. After what has been quite a crazy year at school, I think we all deserve a relaxing vacation. Just hearing the word vacation probably gives you a good sensation, but what if you don’t know where to go? Well, over the years, I have taken summer vacations all over the place. With that being said, I will be naming my five most recommended vacation destinations in the country.


5th Place: The Greenbrier (White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia)

Coming in at the fifth spot is the wonderful Greenbrier Resort. If you are ever looking to treat yourself in a relaxing and luxurious way, this is definitely the place for you. When I was there this past summer, I had a blast. Even with COVID-19, I was still able to do many of the top activities that the resort has to offer. One of the most popular activities is the Bunker Tour. On this tour, you are able to go into the bunker underneath the hotel. Even though the bunker was never actually used, it was meant to be a secret hiding place for Congress just in case a nuclear attack occurred during the Cold War. Since there is so much history behind this bunker, it was very neat to be there and learn about how it came to be. Another part of your trip to the Greenbrier could include the tennis stadium that they have near the hotel. When I was there, there was a professional event going on. Notable athletes who have played there include the Williams Sisters and John McEnroe. To wrap things up, there are also other additional activities that the resort offers, including crazy jeep rides through the mountains and carriage ride


4th Place: Niagara Falls, New York

Unsurprisingly, Niagara Falls has made my list. With it being one of the wonders of the world, it would be hard not to recommend going to such an incredible place like this. When I first found out that I was going to Niagara Falls, I was honestly not thrilled. Once I got there, however, everything changed. I just stood in awe for the rest of the trip. How amazing it was to be able to see these waterfalls! I would recommend the Canadian side more than the U.S. side, but there was still a lot to do and see on the American side. Probably the most popular tourist attraction is the Maid of the Mist. This is a boat tour where the boat goes almost right beneath the falls. Since it did last a good 20 minutes, it was a very wet ride! Regardless, it was something I will always remember about this trip. Another place that I experienced that I thought was really neat was the Cave of the Winds. This is a natural cave that is right under the falls. The views from this cave were absolutely fantastic. If you decide to drive upstream from Niagara Falls, you will drive by the Whirlpool Rapids. These rapids are known to be one of the most dangerous and wicked in the world. I would not recommend going for a swim in that water.


3rd Place: Oahu, Hawaii

If you are really feeling like getting out those Hula skirts and busting a move, then Oahu is the place for you. To begin, I would highly recommend staying at the Disney Aulani Resort. In order to have a successful vacation, you must have a nice hotel. It was like a mini Disney World with activities that you can do within the resort, such as swimming at the waterpark. We didn’t just hang out at the resort, though; we went to several different places while vacationing in Oahu. One of those places was the Pearl Harbor National Memorial. If you feel like learning a lot about history, then you will adore this location. While I was there, I learned a lot about the Pearl Harbor attack. It was just insane to think that I was standing at the exact same place that those tragic events happened. Moving on from there, I obviously also went to many different beaches. You can’t go to Hawaii without going to a beach. On one of the days when I was out and about, my family and I decided that we would stop in at the Dole Plantation. This is a historic pineapple plantation that includes the world’s largest maze. While this sounds very interesting, I quickly realized that it was mostly just a tourist trap. To end my highlights on my adventures in Oahu, I went to several different waterfalls as well. The ones that I saw were Akaka Falls and Kahuna Falls.


2nd Place: Walt Disney World (Orlando, Florida)

Disney World is an absolutely amazing place for a family vacation over the summer months. After all, their slogan says that it is “The Most Magical Place on Earth.” Within Disney World itself, there are several different parks: Epcot, Magic Kingdom, Hollywood Studios, Animal Kingdom, and the Water parks (Blizzard Beach and Typhoon Lagoon). From all six of these parks, Magic Kingdom is my most recommended park. There is much more to do here than anywhere else, and the restaurants are amazing. In terms of resorts, I pretty much always stay at Old Key West. There is always something to do there, such as playing a round of golf or hanging out at the pool. The vibe at that resort is also very relaxing, and it makes you feel like you’re truly vacationing. When I think back to my young childhood years, Old Key West brings back some of my very best memories.


1st Place: Sedona, Arizona

Coming in at the winning spot of favorite vacations in the country is Sedona, Arizona. There is no doubt that this is a unique place to visit. If you do not know anything about the area, it is made up entirely of red rocks. There is a lot of science behind why the sandstones are red, but since I’m trying to uplift you about summer, I will not go into that. To go along with the red scenery, the evergreen vegetation fits in beautifully with the colors. This combination adds up to be a tourist’s paradise. No matter where you are, you will always have a wonderful view. One of my most recommended places to visit if you go there is the Chapel of the Holy Cross. This is a Roman Catholic chapel that is built into the hills of Sedona. Even though the views are always beautiful, the views at this chapel are especially incredible.


With all of these recommendations, I hope that you are not lost on vacation ideas anymore. Whether it is lying on the gorgeous beaches of Oahu, Hawaii, or being awed by Niagara Falls, you will surely be in for a treat with these vacations.

88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Spotlight: Lara Vicente

At Greenwood, there is always at least one foreign exchange student that comes for a new experience. This year, that exchange student is Lara Vicente. Instead of asking Lara the usual questions of “ho

bottom of page