top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Swann

Walking Out: Interview With a Teen Activist



As some of you know, there has been a petition floating about recently that is trying to obtain permission to do a walkout. The organizers are trying to do a walkout on the fourteenth, for seventeen minutes to show support for reformed gun control laws. The idea of walking out for seventeen minutes arose after the fatal shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in which there were seventeen fatalities. The idea of this is also so important. The fact that a high school student, someone who can’t vote, is standing up for political issues is a huge deal. Somebody who has no say in the final outcome, is taking the time and effort to stand up for important and divisive political issues. After doing a little bit of research, I was lucky enough to get an interview with Hannah Olson, a junior here at Greenwood and the person behind this petition. Here are some of the questions I asked her.


1. What inspired you to do this? Was it your family, friends, or even a personal experience?

I heard that other schools were planning walkouts, so I thought why shouldn't we do it here at Greenwood. I am a huge activist and I've done marches in Washington D.C. and I am also planning to attend the March for Our Lives on March 24th, marching for the same cause we will be walking out for. I believe that we can take the same enthusiasm for change, and show that at Greenwood.

2. What has been the general thought toward the petition? Do people disagree with it? How many have refused to sign?

Although I have had many people happy to sign and hear about the walkout, there are also people who strongly disagree with all of it. Some have quietly refused and some have voiced their opinion of how they disagree with it. I'm okay with that because everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and that's the beautiful thing about where we live is that we can all have different opinions and voice them and try to make a change.

3. Do you feel like it's harder to get a petition like this passed in a deep red area with so many guns?

I definitely do think it's harder to organize an event like this in the area where we live. People around here enjoy having their guns, and don't exactly understand that gun law reform is not banning guns, but changing gun laws so the wrong people can't get ahold of them.

4. Have you introduced this idea to any teachers or other authority figures?

I have talked to teachers about this and some teachers really support this, and others do not. That's just how it is with people. But, I am very thankful for the teachers who have encouraged me and helped me do this.



5. Why now? What is special about the shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas than at any other?

Since the Columbine shooting in 1999 there have been 25 fatal school shootings. That is a disgusting amount. All the other shootings America has responded with thoughts and prayers, and now it's time for a change. This time we are making a change and letting our voices be heard. Now we are the voice for the voiceless.

6. What would you say to the people who don't support your petition, and/or don't support reformed gun control?

I believe that some of the disagreement with gun control is misunderstanding. Gun control doesn't mean taking everyone's guns away, it means making it harder for the wrong people to get guns. I would just like to say please look into what reforms we are trying to make, and maybe you'll change your opinion.

7. Have your friends been supportive? Do you have anybody helping you?

I have very supportive friends and I have multiple other people helping me with this. I would not be able to do this on my own and I am grateful for the help I am receiving an I am continuously looking for peoples’ input on this.



8. Do you have any messages for other teen activists like yourself?

I just want to say to other teen activists to never stop trying. There are always going to be people trying to stop you, but if you believe in what you're fighting for then never stop fighting. There are so many ways and so many opportunities for you to make a difference. It doesn't matter how young or old you are nothing can stop you from making a difference. As Jean Paul once said "Age does not matter if the matter does not age" and this matter has been going on for years, and now we are going to be the change.


Disclaimer:

These are the opinions of the author and do not reflect the opinions of the Paw Print or Greenwood.

Note: Some answers have been edited for clarity.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Spotlight: Lara Vicente

At Greenwood, there is always at least one foreign exchange student that comes for a new experience. This year, that exchange student is Lara Vicente. Instead of asking Lara the usual questions of “ho

bottom of page